Delete and deactivate goals in Adobe Workfront Goals

When you start working on a goal and it becomes irrelevant in your organization, we recommend deactivating it, instead of deleting it. Deactivating a goal keeps its historical information and gives you a chance to reactivate it at a later time. There are times, however, when deleting a goal might make sense, to keep your goal list accurate.

Access requirements

You must have the following:

Adobe Workfront plan*

Pro or higher

Adobe Workfront license*

Request or higher

For more information, see Adobe Workfront licenses overview.

Product

You must purchase an additional license for the Adobe Workfront Goals to access functionality described in this article.

For information, see Requirements to use Workfront Goals.

Access level configurations*

Edit access to Goals or higher

Note:

If you still don't have access, ask your Workfront administrator if they set additional restrictions in your access level. For information on how a Workfront administrator can change your access level, see:

Object permissions

Manage permissions to the goal

For information about sharing goals, see Share a goal in Workfront Goals.

*To find out what plan, license type, or access you have, contact your Workfront administrator.

Prerequisites

You must have the following before you can start:

  • A Layout Template that includes the Goals area in the Main Menu.

Deactivate goals

You can deactivate a goal that is no longer relevant and that you might want to reactivate in the future.

Considerations when deactivating goals

Remember the following when deactivating goals:

  • You can only deactivate goals in an Active status. For information about activating a goal, see Activate goals in Adobe Workfront Goals.

    TIP

    You cannot deactivate goals in a Draft status.

  • Workfront stops calculating the progress of deactivated goals.

  • Inactive goals no longer display on or are taken into account in the following areas of Workfront Goals:

  • You can no longer make updates on deactivated goals.

  • You can edit information about the goal and its alignment.

  • You can reactivate a previously deactivated goal.

Deactivate goals

  1. Go to the goal that you want to deactivate.

    For example, go to the Goal List and click the name of a goal.

    The Goal Details panel opens on the right.

    TIP

    You can open goals from any sections of Workfront Goals.

  2. Click the More icon , then click Deactivate.

    The goal status changes to Inactive.

  3. Click the X icon in the upper-right to close Goal Details.

Delete goals

You can delete goals that are no longer or might never be relevant.

Considerations when deleting goals

  • You can delete goals in any status, including closed goals.
  • You cannot recover deleted goals.
  • Results and Manual progress bar activities attached to the goal are also deleted.
  • Projects associated with goals are not deleted, but their association with the goal is removed.

Delete goals

  1. Go to the goal that you want to delete.

    For example, go to the Goal List and click a goal.

    The Goal Details panel opens on the right.

  2. Click the More icon , then click Delete.

  3. Click Yes, delete.

    The goal is removed from the Goal List and cannot be recovered.

On this page