Delete users
When a user leaves your organization, you can remove that user from Adobe Workfront.
Deleting a user must be performed through the Adobe Admin Console. For instructions, see the section “Permanently delete users” in the article Manage users individually or contact your Adobe Admin Console Administrator.
Access requirements
| table 0-row-2 1-row-2 2-row-2 layout-auto html-authored no-header | |
|---|---|
| Adobe Workfront package | Any |
| Adobe Workfront license |
Standard Plan |
| Access level configurations | You must be an administrator on the Adobe Admin Console. |
For information, see Access requirements in Workfront documentation.
Deleting vs. deactivating a user
Deactivating a user causes the following things to happen:
-
Removes the user’s licenses to both Workfront and Workfront Proof if the Workfront Proof component is associated with your Workfront account. For more information about Workfront Proof, see Workfront Proof: article index.
-
The user can no longer be assigned work.
-
The user can no longer be added to updates.
-
The user can no longer be added to teams or groups.
-
Objects can no longer be shared with the user.
-
Their association with the following objects remains intact:
-
Tasks, issues, projects, portfolios
-
Dashboards
note NOTE If you deactivate a user and can no longer view the reports or dashboards associated with a user, you may need to update the Run this report with the Access Rights of: field.
To learn more, see the Why can’t I access a report owned by a deactivated user? section of the Reports FAQs article. -
Documents
-
Updates
-
Hours
-
-
If the user has checked-out documents, the documents remain checked out when you deactivate them. Only a Workfront administrator can check them back in. For more information about checking out documents, see Check out documents.
Deleting a user causes the following things to happen:
-
Removes the user’s licenses to both Workfront and Workfront Proof, if the Workfront Proof component is associated with your Workfront account. For more information about Workfront Proof, see Workfront Proof: article index.
-
The user can no longer be assigned work.
-
The user can no longer be added to updates.
-
The user can no longer be added to teams or groups.
-
Objects can no longer be shared with the user.
-
Deletes the association of that user with the following objects:
- Tasks, issues, projects, portfolio
- Dashboards
-
Updates
-
Hours
note NOTE These objects remain in Workfront but the owner of the object is now blank. -
If the user uploaded any documents under the Documents area in the Global Navigation Bar, the documents are also deleted.
-
If the user has checked out documents that they own and the documents are uploaded in the main Documents area (accessed from the Main Menu), the documents are deleted with the user. For more information about checking out documents, see Check out documents.
For more information about deactivating users, see Deactivate or reactivate a user.