If you are a Workfront administrator, you can restore projects, tasks, issues, documents, and templates in Adobe Workfront if they have been deleted in the past 30 days. After 30 days, these items are permanently deleted and cannot be restored.
When you restore an object, all of its child objects and fields are also restored. For example, if you restore a project, all tasks, issues, documents, hours, notes, assignments, and custom data in the project are also restored.
A group administrator can also restore these objects for a group they manage.
If you delete a report, dashboard, user, group, team, or iteration, it can’t be restored.
In a group, when someone other than the group administrator uploads a document directly to the Documents area of an object, only a Workfront administrator can restore the document.
If you move a task or an issue and choose not to also move the documents attached to the task or the issue, the documents are deleted and placed in the Recycle Bin for 30 days. An administrator can restore them and they will be reattached to the moved task or issue. If the task or the issue have been deleted since they were moved, the documents will be restored in the Documents area of the user page of the administrator who restores them.
You must have the following to perform the steps in this article:
|Adobe Workfront plan*||Any|
|Adobe Workfront license*||Plan|
*To find out what plan or license type you have, contact your Workfront administrator.
When you restore a project, task, or issue, the following associated information is recovered along with it:
Comments and replies in the Updates area
Business cases, including scorecards, goals, and risks
Task baselines are recovered when you restore their parent project or task, but not when you restore individually deleted tasks.
Hours (and hour IDs)
Whether hours are restored to the deleted item depends on the settings you chose when configuring preferences for timesheets and hours. For more information, see Configure affect on hours when an object is deleted and restored.
The URL of the item
When restored, the URL of the item remains the same. If people have created browser bookmarks for the item, they remain valid.
Access and permissions
Users who had access to the item before it was deleted regain access after it is restored.
Documents (including proofed documents)
Consider the following when restoring documents and document versions:
Documents that were deleted individually can be restored individually.
Documents that were deleted along with their parent project, task, or issue are recovered when you restore the parent, but you cannot restore them individually.
All versions of a document or a document proof are restored when the document is restored.
Individual versions of a document or document proof that were deleted individually cannot be recovered.
When you restore a project, task, or issue, the following associated information is not recovered along with it:
Intake Email Address in a request queue
A project, task, or issue that you added to the Favorites menu before deleting it doesn’t reappear on the Favorites menu after you restore it.
A resolving object is a converted issue configured with the option Keep the original issue and tie its resolution to this <project or task)>. If you delete the parent project or task, the issue is no longer identified as a resolving object because there is no longer a link connecting it to the project or task. If you restore the parent, the link is not restored.
For more information about how a Workfront administrator or group administrator configures issues to match the resolving object when converted, see Configure system-wide task and issue preferences and Configure task and issue preferences for a group.
For more information about converting issues, see, Overview of converting issues in Adobe Workfront.
Click the Main Menu icon in the upper-right corner of Adobe Workfront, then click Setup .
Click Recycle Bin > Recently Deleted.
Click the Projects, Tasks, Issues, or Documents tab, depending on the type of item you want to restore.
Items are sorted by the Deletion Date column by default.
Select up to 10 items that you want to restore.
If you delete a child task, it displays in the list.
If you delete a parent task, only the parent task shows in the list. But all child tasks are restored when you restore a parent task.
Click Restore to restore the selected items to their original location.
(Optional) To quickly view the restored item, follow the steps in View restored item.
For more information about what happens after you restore an item, see What happens after you restore items in this article.
When you restore tasks and subtasks, they appear in the order they had prior to being deleted.
However, if the order of other tasks changes while the task is deleted, the task might be restored to the bottom of the list of tasks or subtasks.
After you restore an item:
A message displays to lets you know whether you were successful.
You also receive an email notification. If you restored multiple items, the email lists them.
A comment displays in the Updates area of the project, task, or issue and in that of the parent object.
This does not happen when you restore a document.
At this time, when someone restores a document that has a proof, the Proofing Activities page for the proof might display the name of the first active Workfront administrator listed for your organization’s instance (in order of profile ID) instead of actual person who restored the proof.