In this video, you will learn:
Providing stakeholder and collaborator visibility is an important part of managing a project. Make sure everyone can see the information they need by sharing the project. Workfront tries to help make sharing the project easy by doing a lot of the sharing automatically. When you create a project, you’re automatically given managed rights. Which means you can view and edit the project along with all of its tasks and issues. When you assign a worker to a task, they automatically get access rights to view the entire project. They’re also given rights to contribute to their assigned task. The project sponsor is automatically given rights to view the project.
Any resource managers assigned are automatically given rights to manage the project so they can do their jobs assigning resources. But they are restricted from being able to delete the project. These are people who are commonly assigned to a project and you can see that all of them have had reasonable access rights automatically shared with them without the project manager needing to do anything. But there may be other people who are not working on the project who need to see it in reports. The project can be shared with them individually. But again, Workfront has a way to make this easier. You can share objects like projects with teams, job roles, groups or companies as well as individual people. Best practice is to create things like teams with sharing in mind. Then you can share your projects with a team like the management team. This would include all the people who would like to see this project in a report. Another way to share your project is to put it in a portfolio. When you do that, any permission granted to the portfolio will be inherited by your project. Sharing a portfolio with a person, team, etc. will give them access rights to all the projects in that portfolio and automatically to any new projects that may be added to the portfolio. The same applies to programs. If you need to add or restrict rights for anyone on the shared list, you can do it right here. If you need to change everyone’s rights on a team, you can do it here as well. You can also share projects using a bulk edit. However, most customers find that sharing using teams and groups is the easiest way to manage team members who come and go. When you add someone to a team, they automatically have rights to everything the team is shared with. When you remove someone from a team, they automatically lose those rights on objects a team is shared with. This is much easier than opening up multiple projects to remove sharing rights. Another best practice is to set up sharing in a project template. If you select template sharing, you’re sharing the template itself. This sharing is just about who can view or edit the template. But if you select project sharing, you’re setting up the sharing that will automatically happen to every project created using this template. This can be a real time saver. This next best practice requires your system administrator or group administrator to get involved. But it’s worth mentioning here so that you’ll know you can ask them about it. Suppose your group always wants a team member who is assigned to a task to have contributor rights to the entire project. The system default is view rights. So you would have to edit the sharing rights for each assigned user individually and be sure and do this every time a new user is assigned. But these system defaults can be changed by your system administrator. You can see the options here in setup, project preferences, tasks and issues, access. Let’s change the also grant option to contribute when someone is assigned a task. The system administrator can also delegate this to group administrators. So each group can have their own preferred defaults.