Delete and deactivate portfolios

Portfolios are collections of projects or programs in Adobe Workfront. You can delete or deactivate a portfolio if you find that it’s irrelevant for your system.

We recommend deactivating a portfolio that no longer needs to be associated with future projects instead of deleting it, to keep the historic information on the projects that are currently associated with the portfolio and its programs.

Access requirements

You must have the following access to perform the steps in this article:

Adobe Workfront plan
Any
Adobe Workfront license

New: Standard

Current: Plan

Access level configurations
Edit access to Projects and Portfolios
Object permissions
Manage permissions on the portfolio

For more detail about the information in this table, see Access requirements in Workfront documentation.

Overview of deleting and deactivating portfolios

Consider the following when deciding whether to delete or deactivate portfolios:

  • Deleting a portfolio deletes the programs associated with it.

    note important
    IMPORTANT
    You do not need to have any permissions to programs to be able to delete the portfolio.
  • Deleting a portfolio does not delete the projects associated with it.

  • You cannot recover deleted portfolios.

  • Deactivating a portfolio ensures that the name of the portfolio and its programs can no longer be assigned to projects when creating a project.

Deactivate a portfolio

When you deactivate a portfolio, you can still access it from the Portfolios area, but it no longer displays in the list of portfolios when users try to add it to a project.

NOTE
Depending on how your Workfront or group administrator configures your layout template, the Portfolios area might not display in the Main Menu. For more information, see Customize the Main Menu using a layout template.
  1. Click the Main Menu icon Main Menu in the upper-right corner of Adobe Workfront, or (if available), click the Main Menu icon Main Menu in the upper-left corner.
  2. Click Portfolios .
  3. Click the name of the portfolio.
  4. Click the More menu to the right of the portfolio name, then click Deactivate Portfolio.

Delete a portfolio

  1. Click the Main Menu icon Main Menu in the upper-right corner of Adobe Workfront, or (if available), click the Main Menu icon Main Menu in the upper-left corner.
  2. Click Portfolios .
  3. Select the portfolio, then click Delete ​the Delete icon .
  4. In the box that appears, click Yes, Delete It to confirm.
recommendation-more-help
5f00cc6b-2202-40d6-bcd0-3ee0c2316b43