Service level agreements (SLAs)

The service-level agreement (SLA) defines the level of service expected by a customer from the service provider, with simple metrics by which that service is measured, as well as the remedies or penalties, if any, should the agreed-upon service levels not be achieved.

The SLAs for different types of incident criticalities can be contracted, maintained, and measured. Further, the response type can have multiple standards (Gold, Platinum), based on the level of service required by the customer.

The following table describes a typical SLA metric breakdown with multiple service levels:

Issue Type Impact Example Response/Restoration time during supported business hours
Gold Platinum
P1 Critical Impact Service down or unusable 1 hour / 4hours 1 hour / 4 hours
Service is unavailable
Service is unusable across end user base
P2 High Impact Service severely impaired 2 hours / 12 hours 2 hours / 8 hours
Service performance is degraded
Service available, but producing significant error messages
P3 Medium Impact Service partially impaired 8 hours / 16 hours 8 hours / 12 hours
Error messages generated, no noticeable end user impact
Questions about features used in customer launch

Coverage options

The coverage options for committed SLAs varies with different types of offering. Typically, the scope of Gold and Platinum support services look something like the following:

Infographic showing SLA coverage options

On this page